Wayzata High School Wins 2019 Science Bowl Regional Championship


Minnesota Academy of Science

• 970 Raymond Ave., Suite 103 • St. Paul, MN 55114 • (651) 917-3994 • www.mnmas.org •



 Wayzata High School 2019 MN Science Bowl Champion

Will compete in National Finals in Washington, D.C.


St. Paul, MN – January 26, 2019  Wayzata High School – Team 1 defeated Minnetonka High School – Team 1 to win the championship of Minnesota Academy of Science’s Minnesota Regional Science Bowl for High School Students at Macalester College on January 26. The Wayzata High School team won a team trophy, individual medals and will represent Minnesota in the upcoming Department of Energy's National Science Bowl, April 25 - April 29, 2019 in Washington, D.C. 


Competing for Wayzata High School are Geoffrey Chen, Ben Weiner, Matthew Qu, Aayush Gupta, Stephen Chen. Their coach is Amanda Laden.


A total of 170 students from 33 teams representing 17 schools participated in the tournament. Teams spent months preparing for the event that features head-to-head competition in a fast-paced question and answer format similar to the TV show, Jeopardy. The students were quizzed on questions in Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Space Science, Energy, Mathematics and Physics. 


The schools that participated include : Academy of Holy Angels, Burnsville SH, Century SH, Chanhassen SH, Chaska SH, Columbia Heights SH, Edina SH, Harding SH, Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial Sec., Maple Grove, Minnetonka HS,  Parnassus Preparatory School, Sauk Rapids-Rice SH, St. Paul Academy - Summit, The Blake School, Wayzata HS, and Woodbury SH.


Congratulations to Maple Grove High School – Team 2 for winning the Civility Award for their excellent sportsmanship.  


The Minnesota State Regional Science Bowl for High School Students is a program of the Minnesota Academy of Science.  The Minnesota Academy of Science supports Minnesota scientists at every stage of their development, providing a vital forum for scientific inquiry and discussion that reaches thousands of Minnesotans annually. The competition is sponsored by generous contributions from Ecolab FoundationVerizon WirelessMacalester College,  Hardenbergh Foundation, General Mills,Seagate, Medtronic, Cray Inc., General Dynamics, Diasorin, United States Department of Energy


Standings Summary:

1st Place – Wayzata High School – Team 1

2nd Place – Minnetonka High School – Team 1

3rd Place – Minnetonka High School – Team 2

Civility Award (Sportsmanship) – Maple Grove High School – Team 2


For more information contact:

Barbara Donoho                                                         MN Academy of Science – www.bowl.mnmas.org

Science Bowl Coordinator                                           U.S. Dept. of Energy http://science.energy.gov/wdts/nsb/

Minnesota Academy of Science