The MN Academy of Science is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of representatives from K-12 education, academia, and industry. Board Members include STEM teachers and professors, STEM professionals, and other adults who support STEM and STEM education.

Contact the MAS Board at

Dr. Stephanie Yancey

Beckman Coulter

Board President

Mary Frantz

Enterprise Knowledge Partners, LLC

Board Treasurer

Dr. Jessica Bell

Century College

Board Director

Dr. Felicia DeSantos

General Mills

Board Director

Karen Newell

ISD 287 - Retired

Board Director

Dr. John Olson

MN Department of Education

Board Director - ex officio

Dr. Joanna Klein

University of Northwestern

Board Vice-President

Dr. Tanya Shipkowitz

Mardil Medical

Board Secretary

Dr. Melanie Reap

Winona State University

Board Director

Dr. David Rowe


Board Director

Dr. Aeisha Thomas

Crown College

Board Director

Dr. Xu Zou

University of Minnesota

Board Director

Board members serve a three-year term. Officers are elected by the voting membership and board members are elected by the Board of Directors.

If you are interested in becoming a Board Member, please forward your resume and a letter of intent to:

Nominations Committee - Minnesota Academy of Science
970 Raymond Avenue, Suite 103
St. Paul, MN 55114
Phone (651) 917-3994

Applicants with a background in Finance, Non-Profit Management, or Non-Profit Law will be given preference.